Pupils’ Concert (01/05/16)

Organising a pupils’ concert is something I hadn’t done with my own students before and I felt a bit uncertain about how it would go. I have to admit it was a very rewarding experience. Performing music in front of an audience should be our main goal as musicians and this is an opportunity I wanted to give to my students.

When I was a child I used to have these clarinet concerts where me and my clarinet colleagues would play individual pieces and then clarinet duos, trios, quartets, etc. I remember these concerts as being quite joyful and entertaining, probably not really realising at the time how essential they were for me to grow as a musician.

In my pupils’ concert last Sunday I tried to put all my pupils together at the end of the concert to sight-read a very easy piece called ‘Now Is The Month Of Maying’ (a bit under tempo of course). I was quite pleased with the results and I think it made them feel a bit like playing with a clarinet ensemble.

I would like to thank all my students that took part in this concert, for their courage and versatility to allow me to try new exercises with them. It made me feel very proud of them and gave me the assurance to keep organising this kind of event.

Leave a Reply

